Skip to main content

NAF Five Star International Hartpury Horse Trials - WATCH LIVE

Burghley Young Event Horse

Each year, the Burghley Young Event Horse qualifiers provide a showcase of young equine talent at Hartpury.

Celebrating young equine talent

Each year, the Burghley Young Event Horse qualifying competition marks the start of the eventing action at Hartpury. Open to four and five-year-olds, the Series aims to encourage breeders and trainers to produce and present the type of horse which will be considered the very best starting point from which to train a world-class eventer.

Experienced judges are recruited from across the country in pursuit of an athletic, loose moving horse with a promising attitude and jumping technique. Successful horses going on to contest the final at Burghley in the autumn. The winner has achieved the highest overall marks from the following four sections.

Each horse starts by performing a simple dressage test to show their paces and demonstrate obedience, suppleness and three correct, elastic and regular gaits. Unlike regular dressage competitions, marks are NOT awarded for individual movements. Instead, an overall mark is given out of 30.

The jumping phase follows immediately after the dressage. Four-year-old horses jump a course of up to 90cm while five-year-olds jump a course of up to 1.05m. The judges are looking for a bold athletic horse that shows a good basic technique. 

This competition is all about potential so a horse won’t necessarily be penalised for knocking down one fence for example. A fall of horse or rider or three cumulative refusals will result in elimination. An overall mark is awarded out of 40.

Horses are assessed in hand during the third phase. Their overall build, type and stature should enable them to withstand the demands of the sport, and lay the fundamentals for soundness, speed and stamina. An overall mark is awarded out of 20.

Only the top ten highest scoring horses from phases I - III are invited to come forward to be judged in this final section. The judge will assess each horse for their potential to make a world class three day event horse. The horses are brought into a line in the order that the judge sees their potential. 

Ten marks will be awarded to the horse that the judge brought in first, nine to the second, eight to the third, etc down to one mark to the tenth horse. These marks are added to those awarded in the previous three sections to establish the winner.


A link to the 2022 schedule will appear here when it's available.

Entries and results

Enter online or view past results